Alan Soutar

ProTour Recap - Soutar Shines In Wigan

The PDC ProTour got under way this week in Wigan with many of our Team Mission players returning to action for the first time in 2024.

Alan Soutar enjoyed a run to his first semi-final since May 2022 as he reached the last four of Players Championship 1. 'Soots' picked up wins over Damon Heta and Chris Dobey before narrowly losing out 7-6 to Luke Littler.

James Hurrell impressed in a run to the quarter-finals in his first tournament as a PDC tour card holder, whilst Lee Evans beat an in-form Gary Anderson on his way to the last 16.

There was a return to form for Martin Lukeman who caught the eye by reaching the semi-finals of Players Championship 2. 'Smash' beat the newly-crowned Masters champion Stephen Bunting on his way to the last four, where he lost out 7-6 to Ryan Searle.

Ryan Joyce also showed some good form in getting to the last 16 on Tuesday, whilst Oskar Lukasiak, playing as one of the top up players from the Challenge Tour, picked up a victory against the ProTour number one Dave Chisnall.

In Wednesday's qualifiers, James Hurrell secured a European Tour debut in the Belgian Darts Open, and Alan Soutar booked his place in the German Darts Grand Prix at the end of next month.

Players Championship 1 (Monday, February 12)
Last 128
Leighton Bennett 6-4 Brett Claydon
James Wade 6-1 Oskar Lukasiak
James Hurrell 
6-5 Danny van Trijp
Ryan Joyce 6-2 Jacques Labre
Mervyn King 6-5 Callum Goffin
Alan Soutar 
6-4 Damon Heta
Lee Evans 6-5 Daniel Klose
Stephen Burton 6-1 William Borland
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-2 Ritchie Edhouse
Ian White 6-0 Martin Lukeman
Wessel Nijman 
6-2 Jitse van der Wal
Adam Smith-Neale 6-5 Graham Hall
Richard Veenstra 6-2 Josh Rock
Berry van Peer 6-5 Adam Warner
Ross Smith 6-2 Rhys Griffin

Last 64 
James Hurrell 6-4 Michael Smith
Mervyn King 6-4 Ryan Joyce
Alan Soutar 6-2 Robbie Knops
Lee Evans 6-4 Gary Anderson
Andrew Gilding 6-1 Stephen Burton
Brendan Dolan 6-5 Wessel Nijman

Last 32
James Hurrell 6-2 Mervyn King
Alan Soutar 6-2 Chris Dobey
Lee Evans 6-4 Andrew Gilding

Last 16
James Hurrell 6-3 Jamie Hughes
Alan Soutar 6-1 Lee Evans

Luke Littler 6-3 James Hurrell
Alan Soutar 
6-5 Nick Kenny

Luke Littler 7-6 Alan Soutar

Players Championship 2 (Tuesday, February 13)
Last 128
Cameron Menzies 6-1 Lee Evans
Oskar Lukasiak 6-2 Dave Chisnall
Peter Wright 6-3 Alan Soutar
James Hurrell 6-5 Ritchie Edhouse
Stephen Burton 6-4 Haupai Puha
Ryan Joyce 6-2 Thibault Tricole
Graham Hall 6-4 Aden Kirk
Gian van Veen 6-2 Adam Warner
Josh Rock 6-3 Keane Barry
Wessel Nijman 6-2 Jim Williams
Martin Lukeman 6-2 Lukas Wenig
Ryan Searle 6-3 Callum Goffin
Brett Claydon
6-3 Keegan Brown
Rhys Griffin 6-5 Brendan Dolan

Last 64 
Oskar Lukasiak 6-5 Patrick Geeraets
Peter Wright 6-5 James Hurrell
Danny Lauby 6-5 Stephen Burton
Ryan Joyce 6-4 Mario Vandenbogaerde
Karel Sedlacek 6-5 Graham Hall
Josh Rock 6-3 Mensur Suljovic
Daryl Gurney 6-3 Wessel Nijman
Martin Lukeman 6-4 Stephen Bunting
Ryan Searle 6-4 Brett Claydon
Rhys Griffin 6-5 Madars Razma

Last 32 
Cameron Menzies 6-1 Oskar Lukasiak
Ryan Joyce 6-2 Radek Szaganski
Andy Baetens 6-4 Josh Rock
Martin Lukeman 6-5 Steve Lennon
Niels Zonneveld 6-3 Rhys Griffin

Last 16 
Robert Owen 6-4 Ryan Joyce
Martin Lukeman 6-3 Chris Dobey

Martin Lukeman
 6-2 Callan Rydz

Ryan Searle 7-6 Martin Lukeman

Picture: PDC

Back to blog